Professional and Alumni

KON Board of Directors

Chair – 2017, 2018

Bridgett E. Clinton-Scott
UMES, Human Ecology
2101 Richard Henson Circle
Princess Anne, MD 21853
Office Phone: 309.677.2431


Dr. Bonita Manson
13734 Broken Bridge Drive
Houston, TX 77085
Tele: 803.707.0926

Past Chair – 2016, 2017

Dr. Joni Cramer Roh
300 Wagner Rd.
Morgantown, WV 26501
Office Phone: 304.376.9231
Home Phone: 304.296.3758


First Vice Chair – 2015, 2016

Dr. Kendra Brandes
13 Bradley Hall
Bradley University
1501 W. Bradley Ave.
Peoria, IL 61625
Office Phone: 309.677.2431

Second Vice Chair – 2016, 2017

Dr. Katherine A. Shaw
Eastern Illinois University
Klehm Hall 2417
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
Office Phone: 217.581.6955


National Office - Executive Director

Lisa Wootton Booth
1749 Hamilton Rd., Suite 106
Okemos, MI 48864
Office Phone: 517.351.8335
Cell Phone: 517.881.9311

Office Assistant: Patty Hummel

Student Board Members 2014-17

Emma Wilson


Omicron Theta Chapter, Kansas State

Major - Interior Design
Personal Statement - Since my Kappa Omicron Nu membership began in the Spring of 2013, I have gained knowledge and skills that have allowed me to grow as a person and developed characteristics that will be essential in my future career. I believe Kappa Omicron Nu exists with the purpose of promoting scholarship, research, and leadership in emerging and experienced professionals alike. This organization is committed to the betterment of its members on a professional and personal level. The goals of strengthening intellectual development and providing tools to further members' knowledge in their given fields speak to the quality Kappa Omicron Nu provides for each of its members. I believe Kappa Omicron Nu serves as the core to a community of purpose-oriented people who take an integrative approach to enhancing the quality of life for all.

Emma Wilson, Kansas State University

Resa Ware


Kappa Alpha Theta Chapter, Eastern Illinois

Major - Family and Consumer Sciences
Personal Statement - My perception of the function of Kappa Omicron Nu is that this organization is a leadership development society for high achievers. The main goals are to encourage and maintation strong leadership, community service event planning, and public speaking skills. Kappa Omicron Nu promotes enrichment of lives through research, scholarship, academics, and assistance to individuals, families, and communities as a whole. Kappa Omicron Nu has opened a world of possibilities for me as far as personal leadership development in my daily life and career path. I strongly believe in the goals and values of this honor society, so I would like to continue being a part of Kappa Omicron Nu as a student baord member. I hope to further my leadership skills as well as worlk with a team to accomplish the goals and missions of Kappa Omicron Nu.

Resa Ware, Eastern Illinois University

Emily Mead

Omicron Beta Gamma Chapter, Northern Illinois

Major - Nutrtition and Dietetics
Personal Statement - "Your work is to discover your work and then with all your heart to give yourself to it." -spoken wisely by Buddha. My goal is to make an impact throughout the nutrition and dietetics community. Why do my passions tie in with my professions? My joy blossomed from my love of food. I've cooked in kitchens and watched the Food Network for as long as I can remember. I was unsatisfied, and felt there was something more out there for me to achieve. Working at Concordia Language Villages as an assistant cook I developed menu-planning skills for children with allergies, and I knew in that moment that nutrition was where I needed to be. I have the tools for further Kappa Omicron Nu's goals by encouraging excellence in scholarship, research, and leadership. Through the position of student board member I will be able to reach out nationwide and be the Kappa Omicron Nu voice.

Emily Mead, Northern Illinois University

Board Information

Board Policy Governance Handbook

Student Board Member Application


Award Committee I - Doctoral Fellowships

  • Dr. Janelle Walter, Chair - Baylor University
  • Dr. Jan Taylor - Mississippi State University
  • Dr. Jamie Sailors - Auburn University

Award Committee II - Master's Fellowships

  • Dr. Sharon Bartley, Chair - New Mexico State University
  • Dr. Bonita Manson - South Carolina State University
  • Dr. Jan Murphy - Illinois State University

Award Committee III - Research/Project Grants

  • Dr. Virginia L. Clark, Chair - North Dakota State University
  • Dr. Frances Andrews - Vestavia Hills, AL
  • Dr. Jan Van Buren - West Lafayette, IN

Constitution and Bylaws Committee

  • Dr. Mary Pritchard, Chair - Northern Illinois University
  • Dr. Sue Ballard de Ruiz - Tennessee State University
  • Dr. Diana D. Carroll - Carson-Newman University

Editorial Committee

  • Dr. Carol Kellett, Kansas State University
  • Dr. Jan Murphy, Illinois State University
  • Lorna Browne, Ellicott City, Maryland
  • Catherine Coccia, Florida International University
  • Heather Whaley, Carson-Newman College
  • 1 open position - Click here to volunteer

Nominating Committee

  • Gwen Lucas, Alcorn State University
  • Dr. Kathleen O’Rourke, Eastern Illinois University
  • Janis White, Sam Houston State University
  • Liz Cranshaw, Life University
  • Deborah Tippett, Meredith College

See also: Committee Information